TNB, UniKL keep unbeaten record

TNB, UniKL keep unbeaten record

KUALA LUMPUR: Charity Shield champions Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL) and Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB) stretched their unbeaten run to four matches each when they won their respective games in the Malaysian Hockey League (MHL) Premier Division in Bukit Jalil here yesterday.

TNB, however, overtook UniKL to be the league leader on better goal difference after both teams collected 12 points.

At field two of the National Hockey Stadium, TNB went on a rampage to beat newcomers Hockademy KL 6-0.

The goal spree was started by TNB’s Muhammad Azrai Aizad Abu Kamal in the second minute before national player Mohamad Akhimullah Anuar Esook increased the lead for the team under the guidance of former national player Nor Saiful Zaini Nasiruddin six minutes later.

Muhammad Azrai Aizad scored his second goal in the 24th minute before Syed Mohamad Syafiq notched the fourth goal of TNB two minutes later.

Muhammad Arif Syafie and Mohamad Akhimullah completed the rout with goals in the 30th and 41st minutes.

In another match at field one of the same stadium, UniKL beat TNB Thunderbolts 4-2.

UniKL’s goals were scored by Muhammad Razie Abd Rahim in the fifth minute, Izwan Firdaus (14th min), Mohamad Faid Farhadh (25th min) and Australian import Timothy Deavin (49th min).

The hosts reduced the deficit through Nasrul Syahkhir Sadikul in the fourth minute and Muhammad Fahmi Khalid in the 46th minute.

Meanwhile, Charity Shield runners-up Terengganu Hockey Team (THT) registered their third straight victory after defeating Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) 5-3 at the Tun Abdul Razak Hockey Stadium here.

Penalty corner specialist Jang Jong Hyun of South Korea was the hero of THT when he scored a hattrick, in the first, 50th and 54th minutes, while brothers Faizal and Mohd Fitri Saari contributed one each in the 28th and 33rd minutes respectively.

UiTM replied through goals by Danial Asyraf in the 21st minute, Mohamad Zulhamizan (24th min) and Luqman Hakim (52nd min).

Maybank and Kedah’s Nurinsafi will play at the National Hockey Stadium today.