South Korean stint for national sepak takraw squad

South Korean stint for national sepak takraw squad

KUALA LUMPUR: The national sepak takraw squad will be flying to South Korea for its early preparatory training for the 2019 SEA Games in the Philippines in November.

National sepak takraw chief coach, Abdul Talib Ahmad said the east Asian nation was the apt choice because the South Korean team was on par with Malaysia.

He said 12 players had been listed for the preparatory training from June 7-12.

‘’South Korea is among the best teams in Asia, so we pick them as a training destination, This is the second time we are training in South Korea as we had also conducted training programmes there before the 2017 Kuala Lumpur SEA Games,’’ he said.

Abdul Talib said this when met by reporters after a sponsorship agreement signing ceremony for the uniforms of the national sepak takraw squad between the Sepak Takraw Association of Malaysia (PSM) and Kovra Enterprise at the PSM headquarters here today.

Abdul Talib said that, other than the South Korean training stint, the national squad would be participating in the King’s Cup in Thailand and a championship in India as preparations for the 2019 SEA Games.

He announced that the national squad would be taking part in two of the four events at the 2019 SEA Games, but declined to divulge the events.

In the meantime, PSM president Datuk Seri Ahmad Ismail said PSM had agreed to send its young line-up for the Asian Sepak Takraw Championship in Kunming, China on June 8-15 as only the doubles event was contested at the championship.

The four players selected were Muhammad Syahmi Husin, Muhammad Noraizat Mohd Nordin, Muhammad Azli Ahmad Zaki and Amirul Zazwan Amir.

Commenting on the uniform sponsorship by Kovra Enterprise, Ahmad Ismail said it involved the main squad, women’s squad, national back-up squad and Bukit Jalil Sports School squad.

List of players to South Korea:

Muhammad Syahir Mohd Rosdi, Muhammad Zulkifli Abdul Razak, Muhammad Hairul Hazizi Haidzir, Said Ezwan Said De, Mohd Khairol Zaman Hamir Akhbar, Mohamad Azlan Alias, Muhammad Norhafizi Abd Razak, Mohd Hafizul Hayazi Adnan, Farhan Adam, Mohd Muqlis Borhan, Aidil Aiman Azwawi and Norfaizul Abd Razak.

Tags assigned to this article:
national sepak takraw squadsouth korean