Pakatan reps tell police to release those arrested over claims of LTTE ties

Pakatan reps tell police to release those arrested over claims of LTTE ties

KUALA LUMPUR: Sixteen Pakatan Harapan (PH) elected representatives today called upon the police to release the two DAP lawmakers and five others arrested for allegedly having ties with the now defunct Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE).

In a joint press statement, the Pakatan leaders said that it was natural for Tamils in Malaysia to sympathise with their brethren in Sri Lanka, whom were at war with the Sri Lankan government.

“During the civil war, Tamils from all over the world naturally sympathised for the Tamils in Sri Lanka.

“For your information, the Tamil cause was bigger than the armed struggle waged by the LTTE.

“Just like the Muslims in Malaysia who are sympathetic to the Palestinians, Rohingyas and others, Tamils had a natural ethnic and emotional tie with their kind in Sri Lanka,” they said.

Yesterday, the police arrested seven people for their alleged ties with LTTE. The two DAP leaders arrested were Melaka state executive councillor G Saminathan and Seremban Jaya state assemblyperson P Gunasekaren.

Special Branch’s Counter-Terrorism Division chief Ayob Khan Mydin Pitchay said that they were arrested under the Security Offences (Special Measures) Act or Sosma.

Ayob also claimed that one of those detained has planned to launch an attack on the Sri Lankan High Commission in Malaysia.

Hurling brickbats at the police, the Pakatan leaders reminded the authorities that the government had planned to abolish Sosma as it was prone to abuse.

“Sosma was supposed to be abolished by the government but its abuse continues. It is highly irresponsible to detain them when they have no links with LTTE.

 “The idea of reviving the LTTE does not make any sense in the Malaysian context.

“We urge the government to release those arrested immediately. These arrests are a travesty of justice. It cannot be justified under the new Pakatan government,” they said.

The statement bore the names of 14 Pakatan leaders nationwide, including Penang deputy chief minister P Ramasamy, Jelutong MP RSN Rayer, Batu Kawan MP P Kasthuriraani, Bukit Gelugor MP Ramkarpal Singh, Klang MP Charles Santiago, Batu Gajah MP V Sivakumar, Batu MP P Prabakaran and Senator R Suresh Singh.

Two state executive councillors named were from Selangor V Ganabatirau and Johor S Ramakrishnan.

The remaining five state lawmakers were Sabai assemblyman Kamache Doray Rajoo, Bagan Dalam assemblyman Satees Muniandy, Bukit Gasing assemblyman R Rajiv, Batu Uban assemblyman A Kumaresan, and Sentosa assemblyman Gunaraj George.

By G Vinod