KJ slams Mat Sabu for dishing out military honours to politicians, civil servants

KJ slams Mat Sabu for dishing out military honours to politicians, civil servants

PUCHONG: Umno MP Khairy Jamaluddin yesterday hit out at the federal government for going against its own decision of not dishing out honorary military ranks to politicians.

In an Instagram post, Khairy produced a photograph from Defence Minister Mohamad Sabu’s Instagram, showing the minister bestowing honorary military rank to politicians and civil servants.

The caption on Mohamad Sabu’s post, or more known as Mat Sabu, reads:

“At the official ceremony of honouring senior army officials and Territorial Army at Wisma Perwira ATM.

“Those receiving the honorary ranks are Chief Secretary to the Government Datuk Seri Mohd Zuki Ali, Negeri Sembilan menteri besar Aminuddin Harun and Negeri Sembilan state secretary Datuk Razali Abd Malik.

‘’Also receiving honorary ranking is Defence Minister’s military adviser Norrul Azril Ariffin, which comes with the rank Brigadier-General,” the post reads.

Miffed with Mat Sabu’s indiscretion, Khairy lashed out at the minister saying that the decision was utterly ridiculous and hypocritical at the same.

“I’m sorry but this is ridiculous. You promised no more honorary rankings for politicians. What is this?

“I feel justified, I resigned my command (not honorary), asked my commission (not honorary) to be revoked and returned my medals and wings (not honorary). Disgraceful!” he said.

Khairy himself joined the Territorial Army in 2010 as a reservist and completed his basic one-month training.

After completing several training courses, which included paratrooper course, Khairy was bestowed with the rank Brigadier-General in Jan 2015, and led the 508 Territorial Army Regiment until his resignation in 2018.

This was not the first time Mohamad had gone against his own ruling, made in April last year, of not bestowing honorary ranks to politicians.

On July last year, MCA president Wee Ka Siong lashed out at the minister for bestowing honorary ranks to Selangor menteri besar Datuk Seri Amirudin Shaari and Malacca chief minister Adly Zahari.  

By G Vinod