DAP’s Vivian Wong triumphed four others to win Sandakan

DAP’s Vivian Wong triumphed four others to win Sandakan

SANDAKAN: First time candidate Vivian Wong Shir Yee of the DAP retained the Sandakan parliamentary seat today in a five cornered fight.

The Election Commission (EC) announced that Wong gained16,012 votes with a majority of 11,521 votes to clinch the seat.

Her closest rival Parti Bersatu Sabah vice president Linda Tsen Thau Lin trailed behind Wong with 4,491 votes.

Independents – businessman Chia Siew Yung polled 178 votes. Sulaiman Samat obtained 126 votes and former Sabah Amanah founding leader Hamzah Abdullah received 788 votes.

All three lost their deposits.

Sandakan has 40,218 ordinary voters deciding the fate of the candidates today. They polled in 19 polling stations involving 90 polling streams.

EC has roped in 798 workers to man the polling stations, anticipated 70 percent voter turnout. However the voter turnout was merely 51 percent.

Vote tallying will be held at the Activities Hall of Sekolah Menengah Jenis Kebangsaan Tiong Hua in Sandakan.

Upto 75 percent of the 270 early voters made up of police personnel cast their ballots on May 7.

Of the 40,218 voters, 51 percent are Chinese, 45 percent Muslim Bumiputera and the rest are made up of other races.

Gender wise, 50.52 percent are female and 49.48 percent are male.

The seat had fell vacant after incumbent MP Stephen Wong Tien Fatt died due to a heart attack on March 28.

This is the eighth by – election held since GE14 on May 9 last year. Thus far, Pakatan Harapan has won four by-elections whereas the opposition BN three.

PH won retained Sungai Kandis, Balakong, Seri Setia state constituencies and Port Dickson parliamentary seat.

BN, on the other hand, retained Cameron Highland parliamentary seat and Rantau state seat. The former ruling coalition also regained Semenyih state seat.

Tags assigned to this article:
linda tsenSandakan by-electionvivian wong